Awards presented at joint Holstein and DHIA meetings

LAFAYETTE – Molly Herberg was named Nicollet County Outstanding Senior Girl when the annual meeting of the Nicollet County Holstein Association was held Wednesday, March 20 at the Lafayette Community Center, in conjunction with the annual meeting of Nicollet County DHIA.

Herberg, the daughter of Steve and Kathy Herberg of rural St. Peter, is a sophomore at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, majoring in ag education/communication and leadership and is a member of U of M Gopher Dairy Club. She has shown registered Holsteins at the Nicollet County Fair, Minnesota State Show (junior and open), Minnesota State Fair (4-H, open, and FFA), Midwest National Holstein Show, and World Dairy Expo. An active 4-Her, Herberg was Nicollet County 4-H Federation president, vice president, and technology officer and has been a youth mentor for new and young 4-H dairy project members. She served her FFA chapter as vice president and officer-at-large and was a region and state participant in Farm Policy Discussion Meet. Herberg is a Minnesota Junior Holstein Association member and has attended state junior conventions 10 years and the National Holstein Convention eight years. She has participated in dairy bowl, public speaking, and dairy jeopardy at both levels. In addition, she’s a JAC Holstein USA Junior Advisory Committee Member-at-Large.

Herberg’s career goal is to have “a long and meaningful career in agriculture, hopefully tied somehow to registered Holsteins.”

President Ken Rossow of St. Peter conducted the Nicollet County Holstein Association annual meeting. Jean Annexstad of St. Peter and Paul Struss of Courtland were elected to the county board, replacing Chuck Albrecht and Paul Swenson who have completed two three-year terms on the board. County association officers for the coming year are Rossow, president; Struss, treasurer; and Ruth Klossner of Bernadotte, secretary. Also on the board is Megan Herberg of St. Peter.

Six trophies, sponsored by area agricultural businesses, were presented for outstanding herds and cows during the DHIA business meeting.

Receiving the Premier Dairyman Award, sponsored by Nicollet County Bank, for having the highest three-year average, were John and Jason Schroeder of Courtland. Their herd averaged 25,450 pounds milk, 1,002 pounds fat, 759 pounds protein, and $3,954 dollar value.

Annexstad Dairy Farms, Inc., Mike and Rolf Annexstad, of rural St. Peter, had the top herd for 2012, receiving the trophy awarded by New Ulm Regional Veterinary Center. The Annexstad herd averaged 28,165 pounds milk, 1,065 pounds fat, 854 pounds protein, and $4,227 dollar value.

Paul and Cindy Swenson of rural Nicollet won the trophy for the top cow of the year, sponsored by Bill Seitzer of Form-A-Feed. Their cow, “825,” produced 45,446 pounds of milk, 1,714 pounds of fat, 1,353 pounds of protein, and $6,757 dollar value.

The Swensons also won the trophy for top three-year-old, sponsored by Glenn Pettis of Big Gain Feeds. Their award winning three-year-old, “969,” produced 34,586 pounds milk, 1,411 pounds fat, 985 pounds protein, and $5,279 dollar value.

The Swensons won a third trophy, that for the highest increase for the year, plus $648 dollar value. Their herd increased 4,225 pounds milk, 158 pounds fat, and 135 pounds protein. That trophy was sponsored by Nicollet Veterinary Clinic.

For the second year in a row, John Wenninger of rural Lafayette won the trophy presented by United Farmers Cooperative for the Lowest Somatic Cell Count Herd. Wenninger’s herd had an average SCC of 113,000 and a Linear SCC of 1.5.

In elections held during the meeting, Nathan Schwab of rural Gibbon was elected to a term on the county DHIA board, replacing Dean Binder of Gibbon who was ineligible for reelection.

Binder of Gibbon was the board’s chairman the past year, with Oren Olsen secretary, and Rolf Annexstad treasurer.

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.