Bartels, Christensen join Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame

ST. PAUL – Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame (HOF) 2013 inductees at the 84th Minnesota FFA Convention at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities included James Bartels of New Ulm and the late Bob Christensen of Sleepy Eye.

Other HOF inductees were Al Brudlie, Lewisville; Lowell Gunderson, Ada; Kristin Harner, Northfield; Kent Janssen, Sherburn; Cliff Mitchell, Albany; Lisa Moorhouse, Forest Lake; Natasha Mortenson, Morris; Steve Olson, Buffalo; and James Weninger, Howard Lake.

A selection committee of FFA members, alumni, and agricultural educators selected the inductees for their influence and support of Minnesota FFA and who have demonstrated a high level of service and commitment to agriculture, agribusiness and/or agriculture education.

Jonathan Tauer and Trevor Serbus of Cedar Mountain High School each won three state proficiency awards. Serbus won them in Ag Science Research Plant Systems, Fiber/Oil Crop and Vegetable Production; Tauer won them in Diversified Livestock Production, Equine Science Placement and Poultry Production.

Others winning proficiency awards were Jessica Busch, Sleepy Eye, Agricultural Communications; Brandon Roiger, Sleepy Eye, Home/Community Development, Ag Education; Alexis Schouvieller, Cedar Mountain, Ag Education; Samantha Krebsbach, Sleepy Eye, Ag Sales Placement; Trevor Serbus, Cedar Mountain, Ag Science Research Plant Systems and Fiber & Oil Crop Production; Jake Trebesch, Sleepy Eye, Beef Production Entrepreneurship; Sabrina Portner, Sleepy Eye, Dairy Production Entrepreneurship; Josh Kotten, Sleepy Eye, Diversified Ag Production; Matt Schroepfer, Sleepy Eye, Diversified Crop Placement; Tia Cselovszki, Sleepy Eye, Equine Science Entrepreneurship; Skyler Vold, Red Rock Central, Brandon Kral, Sleepy Eye, Specialty Animal Production; Sam Thies, Sibley East, Specialty Crop Production; Pat Wendinger, Cedar Mountain, Swine Production Placement.

Scott Vogel, Springfield, was a Star Farmer Regional Finalist Pat Wendinger, Cedar Mountain was a Production Placement Regional Finalist, Tia Cselovszki in Agri Business and Karson Herfurth, Springfield, Agri Science.

The Hutchinson FFA Chapter was named the top chapter in Minnesota. Following were Cedar Mountain, Dassel-Cokato, Forest Lake, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, Morris Area, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, Red Wing, and Sleepy Eye.

(Fritz Busch can be e-mailed at

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.