Schmalz, Sleepy Eye win title

SPRINGFIELD – One year after finishing 13th at the Class A State Meet, Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart senior Carly Schmalz is ironing out any kinks that are in her game and hoping that everything is in working order once the section meet comes around.

Schmalz won the girls golf Tomahawk Conference meet for the second year in a row despite finishing second in Monday’s third leg of the event.

Schmalz finished the day with a score of 93, one stroke behind Cedar Mountain/Comfrey’s Courtney Nelson (92). Schmalz finished the three-leg event with 78 points.

“I really didn’t take the winter this year off from golf,” Schmalz said. “I started going down to the Golf Zone [in Chaska] on a weekly basis, so I was pretty comfortable right from the beginning. This was actually one of the worst rounds all year for me.”

Schmalz led the way with 78 points for the three meets, followed by Sleepy Eye’s Lauren Laffen (68.5), Karrah Remus of Sleepy Eye (68), CM/C’s Courtney Nelson (65.5), Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s Mackenzie Schutz (59.5), Springfield’s Callie Wersal (54), Wabasso’s Briana Jenniges (53.5), BLHS’s Mikayla Paulson (52), Sleepy Eye’s Emily Curtis (49.5) and Springfield’s Shelby Schultz (45). The top 10 in points were also named to the All-Conference team.

New Ulm Cathedral’s Brooke Dummer (42), Courtney Berg (38), Wabasso’s Brooke Maasch (28), Springfield’s Alex Chaney (18) and Cathedral’s Ellie Dittrich (14.5) were named honorable mention.

Meanwhile, the Sleepy Eye girls also have their eyes on getting back to the state tournament. They continued their dominance of the Tomahawk Conference, winning the meet for the second year in a row.

“One of our goals for the season was to win the conference championship for the second straight year,” Sleepy Eye coach Caleb Walter said. “Last year we were fortunate enough to win all three leg events and this year we did the same. Today we didn’t put up our best score but we still won and winning the conference title is always a bonus.”

Sleepy Eye finished with 40 team points for the three meets, followed by Springfield (33), BLHS (32), Cathedral (31), Wabasso (24), MVL (18), Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop (6), and CM/C (Incomplete).

In other honors, Schmalz was named the Conference MVP and Walter was named the Coach of The Year.

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.