Beussman, RockVam file for re-election to city offices

NEW ULM – Filings for local and state offices began Tuesday and continue through Tuesday, June 3. No filings will be accepted on Monday, May 26, in observance of Memorial Day.

The state primary election is set for Tuesday, Aug. 12; and the general election is Tuesday, Nov. 4.

In New Ulm, three city government positions are up for election – mayor, second ward councilor and fourth ward councilor. The positions are four-year terms. Incumbents in those offices are Bob Beussman, mayor; Lisa Fischer, ward two; and Ken RockVam, ward four.

RockVam filed for re-election, he said Wednesday evening.

Beussman has also filed for re-election, according to RockVam.

Those interested in filing for candidacy in New Ulm can fill out the necessary forms and pay fees at the Finance Department on the first floor of City Hall.

In Brown County, commissioner positions for District Four and District Five will be on the ballot. Incumbents are Andy Lochner in District Four and Dennis Potter in District Five.

Four county department positions are up for election. They are sheriff, auditor/treasurer, recorder, and county attorney.

Incumbents in those positions are Rich Hoffmann, sheriff; Marlin Helget, auditor/treasurer; Betti Kamolz, recorder; and Robert Hinnenthal, county attorney.’

At the state level, all House of Representatives legislative seats are up for election.

Rep. Clark Johnson of North Mankato, a Democratic incumbent in District 19A, has filed for re-election.

According to the Secretary of State compilations of filings, no one has filed as of Wednesday afternoon for District 16A and District 16B, currently held by Paul Torkelson, a Republican incumbent from Hanska, and Chris Swedzinski, a Republican incumbent from Ghent.

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.