Greyhounds place 1st at subsection

BUFFALO LAKE – Brooke Dummer tied for medalist honors en route to helping lead the New Ulm Cathedral girl’s golf team to a first-place finish at the Section 2A North Subsection meet on Tuesday at Oakdale Country Club in Buffalo Lake.

Dummer, a two-time state qualifier, shot an 87, which tied Sleepy Eye’s Karrah Remus for the best mark on the girl’s side of the meet.

“Today really was a good score for her,” said Cathedral coach Kayla Berg. “She held her ground, she played well.”

Cathedral beat Springfield by three strokes for first place. Both will compete at Monday’s Section 2A meet.

Also helping Cathedral’s cause was sophomore Ellie Dittrich, who had moved her way into the No. 2 slot during the season. Dittrich finished with a 98, which was good for eighth-best at the meet.

“She does well,” Berg said of Dittrich. “She has worked her way into the position in the 40s – not consistently – but she does dip down in the 40s. Hopefully that continues moving forward.”

Megan Laraway carded a 101 and Grace Gillis rounded out the Greyhounds’ scoring with a 104.

Springfield was led by Callie Wersal, who tied Cedar Mountain’s Courtney Nelsen for third place with an 88. Below-100 scores from Jena Roiger (96) and Amanda Rogotzke (97) were also influential in propelling the Tigers to a second-place finish.

Lauren Laffen of Sleepy Eye rounded out the top-5 with an 89, good for fifth place.

Other section qualifiers include Cedar Mountain’s Erica Bock and Alexis Schouvillier, Springfield’s Carissa Evers, Sleepy Eye Public’s Sarah Rossbach and Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s Alyssa Rubey, Anna Miller and Sarah Surprenant.

On the boy’s side, Bethlehem Academy placed first with a 332, having notched top-5 finishes from Freddie Rolstad (second with 78), Jack Ford (third with 79) and Jake Murray (fifth with 85).

Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s placed second with a 372, securing it a spot in next week’s Section 2A meet.

The Knights were led by Ryan Heinrichs, who finished fourth overall with an 84. Bryan Mages (91), Andrew Neid (92) and Lucas Heiderscheidt (105) rounded the scoring for the Knights.

Jacob Stuk and Jake Grunewald qualified for the section meet for Minnesota Valley Lutheran on the boy’s side. Stuk shot a 90 while Grunewald carded a 95, which was just good enough to brand him as the 10th section meet qualifier who will not be competing with a team.

Mountain Lake Area’s Aaron Walzak earned medalist honors on the boy’s side with a 72.

Other qualifiers on the boy’s side include Sleepy Eye Public’s Ben Laffen and Caleb Christensen, Springfield’s Andrew Salonek and Kale Meendering and Cedar Mountain’s Andrew Fisher, Tristan Pietig and Brady Kerkhoff.

The Section 2A meet will be held Monday at North Links Golf Course in Mankato.

Section 2A North Subsection


Bethlehem Academy 332, S.E. St. Mary’s 372, Sleepy Eye 374, Cedar Mountain 375, Springfield 379, MVL 409, Mountain Lake Area 412, N.U. Cathedral 421


N.U. Cathedral 390, Springfield 393, Sleepy Eye 424, S.E. St. Mary’s 473, MVL 517, Bethlehem Academy INC., Cedar Mountain INC., Mountain Lake Area INC.


BA (332): Freddie Rolstad 78, Jack Ford 79, Jake Murray 85, Luke Ford 90.

CM (375): Andrew Fisher 89, Tristan Pietig 90, Brady Kerkhoff 95, Josh Green 101.

MLA (412): Aaron Walzak 72, Tyler Dick 103, Caleb Rempel 105, Leighton Schlabach 132.

MVL (409): Jacob Stuk 90, Jake Grunewald 95, Jacob Mueller 104, Aaron Pietsch 120.

NUC (421): Conner Jakes 98, Jack Wenner 103, Mike Huffman 106, Hunter Bode 114.

SEP (374): Ben Laffen 89, Caleb Christensen 89, Alex Hillesheim 97, Wyatt Kosmatka 99.

SESM (372): Ryan Heinrichs 84, Bryan Mages 91, Andrew Neid 92, Lucas Heiderscheidt 105.

Springfield (379): Andrew Salonek 89, Kale Meendering 91, Jaden Marks 96, Cody Horman 103.



CM (INC): Courtney Nelsen 88, Erica Bock 108, Alexis Schouvillier 114.

MLA (INC): Caitlin Oeltjenbruns 117.

MVL (517): Katelyn Hardtke 123, Sarah Hinderman 124, Lydia Petersen 131, Erica Hardtke 139.

NUC (390): Brooke Dummer 87, Ellie Dittrich 98, Megan Laraway 101, Grace Gillis 104.

SEP (424): Karrah Remus 87, Lauren Laffen 89, Sarah Rossbach 118, Ashtyn Tauer 130.

SESM (473): Alyssa Rubey 108, Anna Miller 109, Sarah Surprenant 121, Leah Schneider 135.

Springfield (393): Callie Wersal 88, Jena Roiger 96, Amanda Rogotzke 97, Carissa Evers 112.

Section Qualifiers


Aaron Walzak (MLA) 72 (1)

Freddie Rolstad* (BA) 78

Jack Ford* (BA) 79

Ryan Heinrichs* (SESM) 84

Jake Murray* (BA) 85

Andrew Fisher (CM) 89 (2)

Ben Laffen (SEP) 89 (3)

Caleb Christensen (SEP) 89 (4)

Andrew Salonek (Spr) 89 (5)

Luke Ford* (BA) 90

Tristan Pietig (CM) 90 (6)

Jacob Stuk (MVL) 90 (7)

Bryan Mages* (SESM) 91

Kale Meendering (Spr) 91 (8)

Andrew Neid* (SESM) 92

Brady Kerkhoff (CM) 95 (9)

Jake Grunewald (MVL) 95 (10)


Brooke Dummer* (NUC) 87

Karrah Remus (SEP) 87 (1)

Courtney Nelsen (CM) 88 (2)

Callie Wersal* (Spr) 88

Lauren Laffen (SEP) 89 (3)

Jena Roiger* (Spr) 96

Amanda Rogotzke* (Spr) 97

Ellie Dittrich* (NUC) 98

Megan Laraway* (NUC) 101

Grace Gillis* (NUC) 104

Erica Bock (CM) 108 (4)

Alyssa Rubey (SESM) 108 (5)

Anna Miller (SESM) 109 (6)

Carissa Evers* (Spr) 112

Alexis Schouvillier (CM) 114 (7)

Caitlin Oeltjenbruns (MLA) 117 (8)

Sarah Rossbach (SEP) 118 (9)

Lexy Wenisch* (Spr) 118

Sarah Surprenant (SESM) 121 (10)

* indicates a team qualifier

(#) indicates a non-team qualifier; there are 10 for both sides

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.