Nelsen, Laffen named Tomahawk Conference Golfers of the Year

Courtney Nelsen and Ben Laffen earned the distinction of the Tomahawk Conference Player of the Year for the girl’s and boy’s sides for the 2014 season.

Nelsen, a junior at Cedar Mountain, amassed 79 total points with first-place finishes at the first and third meets of the three conference meets. Laffen, an eighth-grader at Sleepy Eye, totaled 78 points.

On the girl’s side, Sleepy Eye’s Lauren Laffen finished second with 76 total points, while New Ulm Cathedral’s Brooke Dummer finished third with 63. Springfield’s Callie Wersal (54.5 points) and Cathedral’s Grace Gillis (54) rounded out the top 5.

Jack Broderius of Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart and Tristan Pietig of Cedar Mountain tied for second place in the conference, each with 70.5 points. Jacob Grunewald (58.5 points) of Minnesota Valley Lutheran and Ryan Heinrichs (57.5) of Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s rounded out the top 5 on teh boy’s side.

Boy’s Golf All-Conference

Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart: Jack Broderius

Cedar Mountain: Tristan Pietig, Brady Kerkhoff

Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop: Jacob Woods

Minnesota Valley Lutheran: Jacob Grunewald

Sleepy Eye: Ben Laffen*, Caleb Christensen

S.E. St. Mary’s: Ryan Heinrichs

Springfield: Kale Meendering, Noah Bertram

Honorable Mentions: Jacob Stuk (MVL), Andrew Salonek (Spr.), Alex Girodat (BLHS), Tanner Weisensel (Spr.), Alex Hillesheim (SEP).

Girl’s Golf All-Conference

Cedar Mountain: Courtney Nelsen*

N.U. Cathedral: Brooke Dummer, Grace Gillis, Megan Laraway

Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop: Katelyn Seehafer

Sleepy Eye: Lauren Laffen

Springfield: Callie Wersal, Jena Roiger, Amanda Rogotzke, Carissa Evers

Honorable Mentions: Erick Bock (CM), Alexis Schouvillier (CM), Ellie Dittrich (NUC), Brooke Maasch (Wab.), Jenna Henriksen (Wab.)

*Player of the Year

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.