Brown County added to disaster declaration

NEW ULM – Brown County was added to the President’s Disaster Declaration following the flooding in June.

Twenty-four counties and two tribal governments have been included in the declaration and approved for federal assistance, bringing the total number of counties to 32. The counties added are: Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Dodge, Faribault, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, Redwood, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, and Yellow Medicine counties along with the tribal governments of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa and Prairie Island Indian Community.

This declaration opens up Brown County to submit application for Federal funds to help repair damage caused by heavy rainfall.

“It is important to get this assistance or (the cost of) all the repairs would come from in county,” explained Brown County Administrator Charles Enter. Brown County sustained nearly a $1 million in damages to public infrastructure.

FEMA will be holding Applicant Briefings in next few weeks. City’s and townships in the County will meet with FEMA to go through the categories of damages and assist with the applications for relief funds.

Assistant Emergency Management Director, Desiree Hohenstein, stated that at this time no programs have been approved for individual disaster assistance, but the County will continue to look for additional program funds.

Six counties are still under review by FEMA: Dakota, Hennepin, Lyon, Ramsey, Watonwan, and Wright.

Governor Mark Dayton originally secured a major disaster declaration for eight counties that sustained damage following severe storms beginning June 11: Chippewa, Freeborn, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Renville and Rock Counties.

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.